glutenfree.com - your #1 source for everything gluten-free. Over 650 products available!
My Non Gluten Life | Do Alcohol, Beer and Wine Contain Gluten?

Do Alcohol, Beer and Wine Contain Gluten?

by James Novotny 24. April 2010 05:18

A Guide of Dos and Dont's

If you have any form of gluten intolerance, you might be worried about how your drinking will be affected. Everyone likes to relax with a nice drink every once and awhile, but fear of gluten content may have you turning your head at an alcoholic beverage. The short answer to the question of gluten content in alcoholic beverages is that some drinks have gluten and some don’t. Most beer is not Gluten Free Beer. Any distilled alcoholic drinks are gluten free, but there are others out there as well. You could just check the ingredients on the drink to ensure if it has gluten or not, but for a quick reference, the drinks below have been tested to contain no gluten at all.

Vodka and tequila are two classics in the shot world, and they are perfectly fine to drink. If you plan on chasing them with some other sort of alcohol, make sure that it too is gluten free. Rum is another gluten free classic, as well as certain forms of whiskey. If you’re a fan of gin, you should be just fine with making it your drink of choice. Mead is a drink made from honey through a distillation process, and it too is perfectly safe for a gluten free life.

If you have high class tastes, you’ll love hearing that champagne and sherry both make it on the safe list. The same could be said for brandy, a favorite for many nautical enthusiasts. All wines are perfectly fine to consume as well, and even wine coolers like Boones can be safe to drink. With the coolers, however, you have to make sure that you don’t drink any malt beverages as those do contain gluten. Check over the package carefully. You can also drink cider, grappa, and kahlua if you want to.

For mixed drink lovers, a martini could be fine if it’s made with the right ingredients. Club Extra Dry martinis and Club Vodka martinis work just fine. If you can’t get enough of your margaritas, Jose Cuervo and Mr. & Ms. T have both been approved for consumption. Many cooking alcohols work as well, but you do need to check the ingredients to be sure. Ouzo and kirshwasser are also fine for a gluten free diet, along with cognac and Armagnac. In short, you can drink alcohol if you have a sensitivity to gluten. You just have to be careful about what kind of alcohol it is.

Gluten Free Beer is available but not very prevalant. There are only a few available in the U.S. and they are mentioned in this related blog post. ANHEUSER Busch's Redbridge is probably the easiest to find, but I have yet to find it at any restaurant or bar.

Tags: ,

Comments


June 25. 2010 05:48
ebay selling
Totally digg your website thanks a lot for the info


June 25. 2010 20:25
shoes
i twittered about this topic today. I prefer what you wrote about. Ill link to your website.


June 26. 2010 21:17
peter penusi
i really enjoyed reading the blog - it was very informative without being boring, something that is very important.


October 1. 2010 13:54
Grohe
Great website...and cool article man...thanx for the great post...keep on posting such articles... Resources like the one you mentioned here will be very useful to me! I will post a link to this page on my blog. I am sure my visitors will find that very useful.


October 15. 2010 22:28
Forex Signal Provider
I totally concur with the above comment, the internet is with a doubt growing into one of the most essential medium of communication across the globe and its due to websites like this that suggestions are spreading so quickly.


October 17. 2010 06:27
Danyell Xayasith
I don't believe I have seen this said in such a way before. You actually have made this so much clearer for me. Thank you!


October 22. 2010 19:32
Birthday Party Theme
Hello James,

Looks like you really had a blast. Love this blog. That’s great.

Thanks!!


October 22. 2010 23:19
Leonard Thuma
This is a great website. I have already been back several times within the last week and want to register for your rss feed by using Google but cannot work out the way to do it accurately. Would you know of any sort of instructions?

Comments are closed

Gluten Free Cooking for Dummies


120w x 600h Gluten-Free Mall for Gluten-Free Foods